Minutes of the 18th ACFA Plenary Meeting November 24, 2011, SINAP, Shanghai

The 18th ACFA Plenary meeting was held at the Shanghai Institute of Applied Physics, Shanghai, China on 24th November. The meeting was arranged after the IPAC'13 OC meeting held on November 22-23, 2011.

Participants of the Meeting

ACFA Members

1. Amit Roy (Chair, IUAC. New Delhi)	2. Mitsuaki Nozaki (Vice Chair, KEK/ Tsukuba)
3. Tripti Sekhar Datta (Secretary, IUAC/ Delhi)	4. Yoshimasa Kurihara (Vice Secretary, KEK)
5. Zhentang Zhao (IPAC'13 OC Chair SINAP/	6. Yifang Wang (IHEP/ Beijing)
Shanghai)	
7. In Soo Ko (POSTECH/ Pohang)	8. Guinyun Kim (KNU/ Daegu)
9. Geoffrey Taylor (ANU/ Melbourne)	10. Akiya Miyamoto (KEK/ Tsukuba)

Invitees

11. Fumihiko Takasaki (KEK/ Tsukuba)	12. Yutaka Kawanishi (KEK/ Tsukuba)
13. Won Namkung (PAL/ Pohang)	14. Gwo- Huei Luo (NSRRC/ Taiwan)
15. Junji Haba (KEK/ Tsukuba)	16. Jiyuan Zhai (IHEP/ Beijing)
17. Chuang Zhang (IHEP/ Beijing)	18. Heping Yan (SINAP/ Shanghai)
19. Masami Yokoyama (KEK/ Tsukuba)	

Agenda of the Meeting & Discussions

1. Opening Remarks

Dr Amit Roy, Chair of ACFA welcomed the members and thanked Prof Zhentang Zhao for hosting the ACFA meeting. He requested the members for self introduction. Once introduction was over, he requested members from each country to give a brief report about their activity relate to accelerator.

2. Activity report of Country

Activity report of country started with Australia and ended with Taiwan in the following order.

1. Australia: Prof. Geoff Taylor

2. China: Prof. Yifang Wang and Prof. Zhentang Zhao

3.India: Dr. Amit Roy

4. Japan: Prof. Mitsuaki Nozaki

5.Korea: Prof. In Soo Ko

6. Taiwan: Prof. Gwo – Huei Luo

The committee was pleased to hear the progress of the activities and also noted the initiatives on new projects with good funding from respective country.

3. Activity Report of Working Group

Activity report of Working Group started with HPPA report presented by Prof. Won Namkung [in place of CHOI, Byung-Ho (HPPA WG, KAERI)] followed by Prof. Akiya Yamamoto (LC, Physics/ Detector), Prof. Guinyun Kim (LC, Physics, Detector) and Prof. Nozaki (Networking and Computing).

Members agreed to expand the name of the Networking group to Networking and Computing and that Prof. Mitsuaki Nozaki be nominated to chair this working group in place of Prof. Yukio Karita who is occupied with other works.

4. Activity report of ALCSC/ ILCSC was presented by Dr. Jiuyan Zhai on behalf of Prof. Jie Gao. Committee noted the successful development of 9 cell cavity and the infrastructure for Cavity fabrication and Preparation. It was also pointed out that one Euro-XFEL prototype Cryomodule (without cavity packages) is developed by Chinese Industry and successfully tested at 2 K at DESY and now is operating in FLASH with beam. Mass production of 58 Euro-XFEL cryomouldes is ongoing.

The committee appreciated to the efforts of the working groups in promoting collaboration in corresponding fields.

5. Discussion on AFAD Workshop

Dr. Amit Roy presented the status of AFAD workshop scheduled on February 6-7 at VECC, Kolkata. It was mentioned that 19th ACFA meeting will be held at VECC, Kolkata on February 8. Contact persons for each field have been partially identified particularly from India and Japan. Representatives from China, Korea and Australia were required to be added.

It was decided that names of contact persons will be sent by Prof. Yifang Wang and Prof. Zhentang Zhao from China, Prof. In Soo Ko from Korea and Prof. Taylor from Australia. They were requested to be in touch with Dr. Alok Chakrabarty, India and Prof. Junji Haba from Japan.

6. Discussion on Accelerator School

A reference was made to the mail by Prof. Barletta to Prof. In Soo Ko, previous chair of ACFA for holding a Joint Accelerator School in Asia. Dr. Amit Roy enquired from Prof. In Soo Ko, whether such a school can be organised by him. At this state it will be difficult to organise this school.

T S Datta proposed to have an Asian Accelerator School: Superconductivity and Cryogenics with hands on training. It was recalled that a similar type of School was organised at IHEP, Beijing in 1999 by Prof Shin- ichi Kurokawa. It was a successful event and many of the students from that school are pursuing their career in this field. With expansion of RF superconductivity work initiated in many Asian countries a school with special focus on Superconductivity and Cryogenics to train young generation would be timely.

ACFA recommended the idea on holding a similar type of School. But a proposal has to be made by the group willing to hold the school.

Prof. Takasaki presented a proposal on CERN- ASIA – Pacific School on High Energy Physics. This was presented on behalf of Prof John Ellis. Prof. Takasaki will be the chair of International Advisory committee and the support for each student is max 100000 JPY and total budget is 15 Million JPY.

7. Report from IPAC'13 OC

Prof. Zhentang Zhao, Chair IPAC'13 OC presented the status report and the decision of recent meeting of OC. It was informed that Conference will be held during May 13-17, 2013 and the venue will be the International Conference Centre in the heart of Shanghai City. OC members list were presented and total number is 36 and the Composition are like this: Asia; 16, Europe; 8, America: 8, Chair IPAC'13, 2 Co-opted members and Chair IPAC'16

He also presented the brief report on the agenda of first IPAC OC meeting held on November 22, 2011. It covered the feedback report of IPAC'11, status report of IPAC'12.

Prof. Zhang Chuang, Chairman SPC IPAC'13 presented a brief report about the first meeting of SPC IPAC'13, held on November 21, 2011. He briefed about the composition of SPC with total members 18 (Asia; 8, Europe; 4, USA; 4, Christite Petit-Genaz and Chair IPAC'16).

Scientific Advisory Board is also constituted and 40 Members from Asia, 25 each from Europe and America are identified.

8. ACFA Awards in IPAC'13:

As per ACFA rules, 4 awards are made in IPAC in Asia. The selection committee consists of one Chair and four members. After a discussion, ACFA approved the name of Prof. Jia-er Chen for the Chair of Selection Committee. Prof. Zhentang Zhao, Chair of OC IPAC'13 after a discussion with ACFA members proposed the name of following two members.

1.Prof. Shin- ichi Kurokawa

2.Prof. Won Namkung

The other two members will be selected by Prof. Jia- er Chen.

9. Discussion on IPAC'16

Prof. Zentang Zhao also presented the procedure on bidding of venue for IPAC'16. Presentation was made from Korea, Australia and Taiwan. Busan, Korea was selected to be the venue for IPAC'16 conference by voting in OC. ACFA members endorsed the decision of the IPAC'13 OC and congratulated the Korean members for getting to organise IPAC'16.

10. Selection of Committee for the student Support in IPAC'12.

Members recommended the following names for the selection Committee for deciding the support to Asian students to attend IPAC'12,

1.Prof. Akira Noda: Chairman

2.Prof. Won Namkung: Korea

3.Prof. Qing Qin: IHEP/China

4.Dr. R K Bhandari: VECC/ Kolkata

5.Dr. Guo-Hwei Luo: NSRRC/Taiwan

It was decided that Chair, ACFA will be informing the committee members for getting a concurrence from them.

11. There was a discussion about the ACFA member from Singapore. In the current members list no one is there. Prof. Diao Caozheng's name was proposed for the member from Singapore.

Amit Roy Chair, ACFA once again thanked Prof. Zhentang Zhao and Prof. Heping Yan for hosting the 18th ACFA meeting and making all the arrangements on local hospitality. Prof. Zhentang Zhao invited all for a short tour SSRF prior to the dinner.

Meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.