Minutes for 16th ACFA meeting at IPAC10

Date: May 24, 2010 Time: 12:30 – 14:00

Location: Room 104, KICC, Kyoto, Japan

Participants

ACFA Members

In Soo Ko (Chair) POSTECH
Amit Roy (Vice Chair) IUAC
Tripti Sekhar Datta (Vice Secretary) IUAC
Mitsuaki Nozaki KEK
Shinichi Kurokawa KEK

Akira Noda (IPAC10 PC Chair) ICR, Kyoto Univ.

Chaung Zhang (for Yipang Wang) IHEP
Hongwei Zhao IMP
Zentang Zhao SINAP
Hyyong Suk GIST
Byungho Choi KAERI

Thiraphat Vilaithong THEP Center

Grigori Shirkov JINR

Invited

Katsunobu Oide (IPAC10 OC Chair) KEK
Fumihiko Takasaki KEK
Toshiyuki Mitsuhashi KEK
Junji Haba KEK
Junji Urakawa KEK
Kaoru Yokoya KEK

Won Namkung (IPAC10 Prize Committee Chair) PAL/POSTECH

1. Introduction of New Member from Thailand

- Prof. Thiraphat Vilaithong introduced that new ACFA member from Thailand is Prof. Chaivitya Silawatshananai, Director of Synchrotron Light Research Institute. He also introduced that Thailand Light Source has become the national institute named Synchrotron Light Research Institute.
- ACFA Secretary, Dr. J. Choi (PAL), moved to BNL. Thus, Prof. H. Suk (GIST) will be new ACFA Secretary.

2. Report from IPAC10

• Prof. Oide introduced briefly present status of IPAC10. Notably the number of registrants was more than 1,200 with more than 700 participants from outside of Asia.

3. Report from IPAC10 Prize Committee

- Prof. Won Namkung reported that there are three winners:
 - An Achievement Prize for outstanding work in the accelerator field with no age limit is awarded to Steve Myers, CERN.
 - A Prize for an individual, having made significant, original contributions to the accelerator field with no age limit, is awarded to Jie Wei, Tsinghua University in Beijing.
 - A Prize for an individual, in the early part of his or her career, having made a recent significant, original contribution to the accelerator field, is awarded to Mei Bai, Brookhaven National Laboratory (BNL), Long Island, New York.

4. ACFA Logo

- ACFA logo is designed for the IPAC10 prizes. This will be added to ACFA home page (See attached 1).
- 5. Planning Report from International Beam Diagnostics Conference
 - Prof. Mitsuhashi reported that discussion was going on to establish a new International Beam Instrumentation Conference (IBIC) by combining DIPAC in Europe and BIW in the US.
 - If three regions agree, IBIC will be held with 3 year's geographical rotation just like IPAC. In other words, the 1st IBIC will be held in Asia in 2012, the 2nd IBIC in the US in 2013, and the 3rd IBIC in Europe in 2014.
 - ACFA support made a big contribution to the establishment of IBIC

- 6. Report from First Joint Asian Accelerator Workshop
 - A brief summary of First JAAWS is given by Prof. Junji Haba.
- 7. Discussion for Second Joint Asian Accelerator Workshop and Next ACFA meeting
 - The 2nd JAAWS and the next ACFA meeting will be held together this year in Pohang, Korea. The tentative schedule is as follows: 3 days for the 2nd JAAWS (Nov. 29 -- Dec. 1) and 1 day for the 17th ACFA meeting (Dec. 2).
 - If we have the 2nd JAAWS for two days (Nov. 29 -- 30), then the 17th ACFA meeting will be held on Dec. 1.

8. Any Other Issues

- Prof. Kurokawa showed his intention to resign as Chair of the ALCSC due to his
 health problem, and he recommended Dr. Jie Gao of IHEP, Beijing, China to
 take over the position. ACFA has approved his resignation and agreed on this
 recommendation. ACFA Chair will notify ICFA through ICFA secretary Roy
 Rubinstein (FNAL) that we have new ALCSC Chair.
- Lunch was provided by LOC of IPAC10. We thank them.

** Attached 1: ACFA Logo



** Attached 2: Group Photo



** Attached 3:

